Reviews

9.0
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
9.1
Property Location
8.8
Facilities
8.9
Staff
9.6
Value
8.6

Reviews

    Kathy Richman
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 10, 2018
    Wonderful host, lovely home
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 2, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Thomas
    us

    Review Score

    10
    July 31, 2018

    A relaxing stopover in a special small hotel.

    A beautiful traditional manor house hotel. Very nice rooms and furnishings. A magnificent traditional breakfast room and great breakfast. Ian greeted us on arrival and was super friendly and welcoming.
    Guillain
    fr

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 13, 2018

    Super stay in historic mansion

    The bath could use a shower nozzle - only baths are possible!
    The mansion is gorgeous inside and out, the owner is very welcoming and nice, the room was roomy, comfortable and clean. Huge tub. Breakfast was very good.
    Doug
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    August 3, 2018

    Have already recommended to SKF managment colleagues. I will stay there next time in Livingston.

    Couldn't get onto the wifi - there were 3 possible passwords, tried all 3, I possibly typed in wrong, but lost interest trying to figure out which one. Satnav took us to a chained-shut gate which made the whole place look derelict, we thought initially thought we'd been scammed... Suggest a sign on the gate saying 'please enter by main gate on ... road'.
    Keith
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    July 28, 2018

    Perfect for our visit to family

    It's a lovely house, we stayed in the room with the very large roll top bath in the bathroom it's lovely. We didn't stay for breakfast as we were meeting family in Livingston. We have stayed here before and we will be back 😀😀👍
    Daniel
    ch

    Review Score

    9.6
    July 28, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb

    Review Score

    8.8
    July 26, 2018
    Nothing particularly, although those looking for a full hotel experience won’t get it as it’s more of a B&B type of place
    A grand home from home feel to the place
    gb

    Review Score

    9.2
    July 18, 2018

    Wasn’t quite what we expected but nice location and friendly staff.

    Was booked as a twin room as travelling with a friend.. turns out the room was a double. The room had no shower which isn’t made clear either on booking.com. The hosts did try to find us a tap attachment to help rectify this but should really be made clear on the booking that this is a double with a bath.
    The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Clean and tidy. Nice location. Nice touch to have a lounge for guest use.
    First Experience
    gb

    Review Score

    7.9
    July 17, 2018

    Good accomation but value suspect.

    No shower, tiny TV with very poor reception, breakfast average (no mushrooms undercooked bacon)
    Friendly staff, excellent grounds, large room, welcome tea/coffee biscuits,breakfast fruit.
    Theresa
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    July 17, 2018

    Perfect and looking forward to next time

    Beautiful house and great garden grounds Very friendly and professional check in Easy reach from dual carriage but with no traffic noise
    steve
    gb

    Review Score

    6.7
    July 11, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nicholas
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    July 7, 2018
    Nothing
    Lovely period mansion house. Very relaxed ambience. The antidote to a corporate hotel.
    Abi
    gb

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 30, 2018

    Welcoming hosts, comfortable room and a great breakfast. Just what we needed - thank you!

    Only one small thing - we didn't realise when booking that the room had a bath but no shower. In the end it really wasn't a big deal and we probably didn't read the description properly when making the booking.
    Hosts let us check in early as we were attending a wedding nearby. Bed was comfy, drawing room with books, games etc was a nice surprise. Breakfast was good quality grilled food and came with cheerful conversation.
    NNN
    gb

    Review Score

    9.2
    June 28, 2018

    Great place to stay.

    Booking.com charged extra for breakfast which we wouldn’t have been charged if we’d booked directly with the guest house.
    The hosts were exceptional- looked after us extremely well- provided a pot of tea when we arrived & a glass of wine in the evening so what more could we ask for?!
    Linda
    gb

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 28, 2018

    Lovely accommodation and great breakfast for a meat-eater

    I am a vegetarian but I eat eggs. When I didn't want a full breakfast I asked for eggs and mushrooms with toast. They only offered fried or scrambled but I prefer mine poached, I only got one egg and a very small amount of sliced mushrooms so the breakfast was disappointing for the price.
    The property is very quaint and has been sympathetically decorated in line with the age of the building, the room I stayed in was very spacious with a comfortable bed and pillows.
    Nora Ann
    ie

    Review Score

    10
    June 25, 2018

    Fantastic stay in Downton abbey era accommodation. Highly recommend it for somewhere different.

    Nothing.
    This was fantastic place to stay. It was an old building recently renovated. It was soo nice to stay somewhere that wasn’t a bed factory type feel of a chain hotel. It was authentic & classy & different. Felt like I was in downtown abbey. It was great
    Colin . New Zealand
    nz

    Review Score

    10
    June 23, 2018
    No dislikes
    Very well run . Would be the best B&b we have been to on this trip. Host makes you very welcome.
    Tim
    gb

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 21, 2018

    We felt like guests at the home of friends.

    It would be helpful to have a shower attachment for the bath.
    Wonderful friendly welcome Beautiful old country house Secluded setting Plenty of parking
    sharron
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    June 19, 2018

    Pleasurable and personal.

    Personal and welcoming greeting from the owners. Tranquillity of the beautiful surroundings.
Loading reviews...